Shrewsbury Quebec
Return to Family History Index

Return to Home Page

The area in which Henry Morrison originally settled was Shrewsbury Quebec.  The reason for this selection is unknown.  One tale of our family history recounts that people that settled in the area wanted an area that had "hills" just like in the old country.  This area definitely had hills.  This is not a good reason, but at least its a reason.

In truth, one of the fundamental reasons that these people came to Canada was to own land.  Their circumstances in the old country are not known (specifically) however, few if any of them would have owned land of their own.  If they did it would have only been a small lot.  There would be little chance to get ahead no matter how hard one worked.

Part of the settlers grant of land would have been the requirement for them to clear and farm the land that they were given, within a specified period of time.  If they met the conditions title to the land was then granted to them.

Their task would have been daunting.  They came to the area for the hills, but found mountains.  The area was not just wooded it was a full grown forest!  There was no going back.  This was a one way trip. What things did they think to bring with them?  What were their first impressions when they finally arrived at their designated area?  How did they know they were even at the right place?

The fact that they survived, a small community grew up and children were raised is no small tribute their perseverance.

The following area some documents and exerpts from books on local history  that give additional information on the area that our ancestors originally settled in.

Henry Morrison originally settled in Shrewsbury.  Subsequent generations spreadout into other small communities such as Louisa, Dalesville, Dunany Lakefield and Arundal.  By the mid 20th centry many had moved to Lachute a small town at the foot of the Laurentian Mountains and about half way between Montreal and Ottawa.


Many of these files are in PDF format. You must have this free reader installed on your system if you want to view/download these files. If Acrobat Reader is not already installed on your computer, click icon above to download.

A History of St. John's Anglican Church
Shrewsbury Quebec.  1858 - 1983
Written by Kathleen Morrison

Although this small book was written about the history St. John's Church in Shrewsbury, it contains a great deal of information about early life in this community.  Additionally it is written by someone that lived there and experienced this history first hand.

Photos of Shrewsbury and The Glen

These photos were taken in the fall in the mid 1980's. Click on the image for a larger view.

..... ......

Map of Shrewsbury (1860 to 1925)
This map indicates the location of the original homesteads of many the
members of the Morrison Clan identified on this site.

The Good Family were also early settlers in Shrewsbury and continued to live in the area.  Pat Good was a well known local artist and produced sketches of the
local churches which were used to raise funds. to see the sketchs, photos of the Good family and photos of the local churches please select the link below.

The Good Family


James Morrison (Generation 3) purchased a farm in Dunany around 1903 and lived there raising a family until 1925.  The History of Dunany documents the early settlement of Dunany their church and school.

History of Dunany
Eleanor Hamilton Hammond

“A HISTORY OF DUNANY” covers the years from 1816 to 1990. It describes the life of the earliest settlers and recounts how they established St. Paul’s Anglican Church, the Dunany School and local industries and services. The focus of this history is on the land holdings and on the successive families who have lived on a particular property to the present day. The life of these families has been researched through Land, Church, School and Census records and through interviews with descendants.

  • Index
  • The Early Years and Infrastructure
  • Dunany School
  • St. Paul's Church
  • James Morrison
  • MacVicar's

  • Picture of St. Paul's Church

    St. Paul's Anglican Church
    Dunany Quebec.

    A History of Lachute
    By: Dr. G.R. Rigby

    IT HAS BEEN facetiously said that the History of Canada can be told in one sentence, ‘Canada was once a country occupied by the Indians; in the 17th Century, the French came and settled the Indians; in the 18th Century, the English came and settled the French; and in the 20th  century, the Americans came and settled for 10 per cent !”

    Lachute does not follow this pattern, for the Americans settled first and the French settled last. But this non-conformity is not in itself sufficient to justify writing a History of Lachute.

    Introduction and Chapters
  • East End School (Built 1810)
  • Henry or Brick Presbyterian Church (1851-99)
  • Meikle Store (1905)
  • Catholic Church (Bethany St.) (1876 - 1937)
  • Methodist Church (1881 - 1932)
  • Chapter V - 1905 - 1925 A Period of Consolidation
  • Anglican Church (1881 - 1947)
  • Chapter VI - 1925 - 1945 A Period of Difficulty
  • Mackie or Stone Presbyterian Church (1905)
  • Chapter VII - 1945 - 1963 Modern Times
  • Bobbin and Suuttle Mills (1905)
  • Epilogue
  • Ayers' Mills (1905)
  • Figure 1: Map Around 1814
  • Barron's Bridge (1906)
  • Figure 2: Barron's Property, Around Lachute 1829
  • Meikle Home/Cozy Inn 1935
  • Figure 3: 1845 Map by Owen Quinn showing two proposed roads to link Montreal with Grenville.
  • Main Street (looking East) 1906
  • Figure 4: 1861 Map made by Dept. of Crown Lands showing the road system around Lachute.
  • Main Street (looking West)
  • Figure 5: Lachute in 1885 showing the location on industries, churches, schools halls and hotels.
  • Fish's Bridge (Before 1925)
  • Lachute Around 1840 showing Seignorial Grist Mills at the falls. (from a lithograph)
  • McFaul's Saw Mill
  • Log School (Built 1801)
  • Lachute Academy (Prior to 1932)
  • Barron's House (about 1872)
  • ,

  • Return to Family History Index

    Return to Home Page

    If you would like to contact us please click on the "e-mail link: